What Companies Should I Apply to as a Junior Software Engineer?

Erik Andersen
4 min readJan 13, 2023
Photo by Stephen Andrews on Unsplash

You have a brand-new education
A recently learned skill

And you look at the sea of big name companies and you index on them for your success

Perhaps it’s a MAANG company
Or a large employer in your area
Or another well-known brand

And you start sending out resumes.

3 months in, you’re still unemployed, and you wonder

Where did I go wrong?
Am I not cut out for this after all?
Is there something wrong with me?

The problem is that this strategy is what most people do!

They subconsciously index on companies they’ve heard of before. They’ve heard they have great perks. They’ve heard they have great culture. And they want that for themselves… now.

And suddenly you have 80% of the job market applying for openings with 20% of companies.

And then wonder why they can’t get a job 🤦‍♂️

So initially,

More than money
More than company size
More than brand recognition

--

--

Erik Andersen

Senior Software Engineer with 10+ years of experience. Also an independent coach, teacher, and public speaker. My opinions are my own